Trash in Mac system is where files stored after deletion from computer. Trash is an invisible folder in Mac OS X which is located at the root level of the drive. When you keep a file in the Trash on Mac OS x, it is invisibly stored in the temporarily folder of home directory. You cannot access or view .trash folder directly from the Mac operating system GUI. You cannot manually allocate the size of the Trash; Mac OS itself allocates the size of Trash. If you want to know the size of contents of Trash then you need to open Trash and select all the files and then click on to get information. If you delete files from Trash or empty the Trash by command + delete or by right clicking on the Trash and selecting empty Trash option then all the deleted files stored in Trash like documents, photos, songs, movies will be deleted. Sometimes it may happen that you have just emptied the Trash and later terribly found that there were still a couple of important files laying there. In such situations you can easily undelete Trash with the help of undelete software for Mac OS X ,which retrieves deleted files from Trash with in simple mouse clicks.
When you click on “Empty Trash” option on Mac OS x based computer the files will not be completely erased permanently but the hard drives directory entry for the files that were in Trash will be erased. The deleted files are marked as ‘Deleted’ by the index of the file system( HFS or HFS+ or HFSX).The space the files used to occupy is now flagged as free and available for re-use. But the data remains intact until and unless you overwrite with new data. Hence once you sense that the important files from Trash have been deleted then stop deleting the files from system and try best third party applications to learn how to recover deleted files on Mac Lion. Check Here to get more information regarding this
Human errors are the main reasons which results in data loss. Generally we all clear the Trash folder on regular basis to retain the maximum capacity of Trash folder in order to store new items. In such cases if you accidentally empty the Trash without checking for its contents or without taking the back up copy of all the important items then you will lose all the important data along with unwanted ones. This results in loss of some important files stored in Trash.
Tips to ensure Mac OS X data safe:
- Before clicking on the empty Trash carefully check what is in your Trash scan the Trash twice or thrice. If there are valuable files you can highlight the ones that got mistakenly sent to Trash and drag it out of the Trash.
- Always take the back up copy of the important files on Mac OS X based computer to external hard drive so that you can easily recover the data in case of any emergencies like hard drive crash, start up failure.
Above mentioned precautionary measures prevent you from data loss. But if you have already lost the data then use good recovery application to recover photos on Mac OS. This application has power full built in advanced scanning algorithm to recover files from missing/deleted Mac volumes. More over it supports recovery of wide range of files such as word document, text document, spread sheet, excel sheet etc. It supports recovery of deleted files from HFS, HFS+, HFSX, FAT16 and FAT32 partitions/volumes. Go to http://www.undeleteosx.com/memory-card-files.html to restore memory card files. Use this out standing application to undelete files from memory card, hard drives, USB drives, Fire Wire Drives etc. You can preview recovered files in a Mac finder styled interface before saving them to secured location. Along with this it can also recover deleted files from inaccessible Mac volumes on all popular versions of Mac OS. It can restore data from Mac Leopard, Snow leopard, Lion with utmost ease. Peek In to get more info
Steps to Undelete OS X Trash :
Step 1: Download and install the application from the site. Lunch the tool and select “Recover Files” option provided in the main screen as illustrated in Figure 1.
Figure 1: Home Screen
Step 2: Now a windows appears on the screen where you have to select the volume from which data is lost/deleted as illustrated in Figure 2. Click "Next" to start recovery process.
Figure 2: Select Volume
Step 3: After the completion of recovery process a window pops up with the list of retrieved files. Preview the files and save to secured location as illustrated in Figure 3.
Figure 3: Recovered File List